Association Business

General Membership Meetings

Annual membership meetings are held in conjunction with the summer and NACAC conferences.  Minutes for the most recent meeting are not approved by the membership until the following meeting.

Executive Board Meetings

The International ACAC Executive Board meets in conjunction with the summer conference and the NACAC conference. Between meetings, other business is conducted through virtual meetings and email communication.

Governing Documents

Two documents govern the running of the association. International ACAC has a set of Bylaws which provide the framework of our association. Changes to the bylaws require approval of the membership. The Executive Board also has a Policy and Procedures Manual which provides guidance for the day to day running of our association. This manual, unlike the bylaws, can be changed by a vote of the International ACAC Executive Board. 

Meeting Minutes

Minutes from past general membership meetings are available for review HERE.


International ACAC Annual Awards

International ACAC annually recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the college counseling and admission profession. 

The Peter Hauet Lifetime Achievement Award

International ACAC established the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2002 to recognize an individual who has contributed to the profession in a significant and lasting manner. This award, which represents International ACAC's highest member tribute, is presented to an individual who, over a period of years, has performed outstanding service to International ACAC, to our profession, and to the international college counseling community. In 2015, the award was renamed in honor of Peter Hauet, upon his receiving the award during the 2015 International ACAC Conference.  Peter was a founding member of our Association and served on the Executive Board for twenty-years.
Sitting members of the International ACAC Executive Board are ineligible for this award.

Award Winners:

Beth Linguri 2003            
Peggy Templeton Strong 2004
Jane Lowery 2005
Vivian Cipolla 2006
Nicholas Senecal 2007
Shep Shanley 2008
Joyce Smith 2009
Richard Dawson 2010
Barbara Marlow 2011
Janet Hurd 2012
Frieda Dietrich 2013
Doug Thompson 2014
Peter Hauet 2015
Dale Ford 2016
Marie Vivas 2017

Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes a person who has provided International ACAC with unique and outstanding service to our association.  As a member-run organization, International ACAC relies on the time, talent, and dedication of its membership to realize its professional mission.  Recipients of this award have contributed in invaluable and incalculable ways to the success, growth, and improvement of International ACAC.

Award Winners:

Peter Hauet 2003
Doug Thompson 2004
Hamilton Gregg 2005
Marie Vivas 2006
Dale Ford 2007
Bridget Herrera 2008
Joe Walsh 2009
Panetha Nychis Ott 2010
Cathy Curtis 2011
Jimm Crowder 2012
Clay Hensley 2013
David Zutautas 2014
Rosa Moreno 2015
John "Jack" Shull 2016
Joan Liu 2017

Rising Star Award

This award recognizes a new member who is striving a make a difference within International ACAC. NACAC's Rising Star Award honors individuals and programs that exemplify excellence and dedication to serving the needs of students in the transition from high school to college. The International ACAC Rising Star Award was established in 2015 to honor those deserving of international recognition. They must be new members who are striving to make a difference within our Association through their work in committees and/or in their communities.  Individuals receiving a Rising Star Award nomination must be professional members of International ACAC for no more than five years.

Award Winner:

Jennifer Lee 2015
Rhonda Leshman 2016
Ed Tourle 2017